The gorgeous Catherine over at Simply Natural has tagged me in a blogspot game, where you are supposed to show photos of where you blog, and say a few things about your space.

So here goes…

The view from the doorway:


My desk:

Finances are always tight in this household, hence the budget fixtures. I am always trying to find a balance between what I like, what is practical and what I can afford, and I find it really difficult. The built in cupboards that make up my desk and the lower part of the storage cupboard next to it are actually (shhh) Bunnings kitchen cupboards. They come flat packed and you put them together in whatever configuration you choose. Easy! Not what I would choose if I had money growing on trees mind you…but they do the job.

The top of the storage cupboard was custom made by my father to fit my craft supplies, photo albums and organised chaos.

On the desk is more budget storage…


This is the neatest this room has ever been, and now that I have visible proof that it can be this tidy, I can now go back to wallowing in the perpetual disarray that seems to be the norm around here.

My craft table…


The table itself was an Ikea bargain because it was the last in stock and had a small dent on the top. What I love most about it is that it is extendable, which means that I can fit up to 4 scrapbooking friends around it should the mood strike me, plus I can craft to my heart’s content and either watch the family room television, or put a dvd on the computer. Can you see why I spend so much time in this room?

Underneath the table are my filing units, which I have pushed together. The black and white cover hides their spectacular unattractiveness, but I am planning to replace this with an off-white cover at some point. It works well as a ‘privacy panel’ for the table, so I guess that means that if I should get the urge to craft “knicker-less” my modesty will remain intact. 😉


On the other side of the room is my favourite piece of furniture, the little blue cupboard. It was originally made for me by my father and was a change table for my children when they were little. When I get around to it, I am planning to paint it white (again) and shabby it up slightly. It has served many purposes in it’s lifespan, but now it houses all of my sewing equipment and fabrics.


So that’s my little haven.

The other part of this game is tagging five other bloggers and letting them know by commenting on their respective blogs.

I don’t know a lot of bloggers, and I am such a slack blogger myself that I have not gathered any regular readers, so how about this…If you are reading this and you have yet to participate in this game, consider yourself tagged. Just leave a comment letting me know so I can go visit your blog and check out your space 🙂